Monday, June 18, 2012



A play about an Iraq war veteran who uses an online chat room to find his way back into civilization, a river boat that travels up and down the mighty Mississippi entertaining folks along its banks and a musical about how fairy tales don’t always end happily ever after were the trio of winners who will take home awards from the Connecticut Critics Circle for best productions of the year this Sunday, June 24 at 2 p.m. at a ceremony to be held at the Mark Twain House and Museum in Hartford.

Hartford Stage’s production of the Pulitzer Prize-winning  drama “Water by the Spoonful,” Goodspeed Musicals revival of “Show Boat” and the Westport Country Playhouse’s delightful version of “Into the Woods” all will garner kudos as outstanding productions.

The directors of each production also will earn credit:  David McCallum for “Water by the Spoonful,” Rob Ruggiero for “Show Boat” and Mark Lamos for “Into the Woods.”  Also honored will be Sam Gold for “The Realistic Joneses” at Yale Repertory Theatre and Christopher Bayes for “A Doctor in Spite of Himself” at Yale Rep.

To recognize actors and actresses for their outstanding work in either a play or a musical three actors in Long Wharf Theatre’s “February House” will be cited:  Erick Lochtefeld, Stanley Bahorek and Ken Barnett.  Other kudos will go to Stephen Epp for “A Doctor in Spite of Himself,” Brenda Thomas for “Sty of the Blind Pig” at TheaterWorks of Hartford, Annalee Jeffries for “Suddenly Last Summer” at Westport Country Playhouse, Jacqueline Petroccia for “Always, Patsy Cline” at Ivoryton Playhouse, Sara Uriarte Berry for “Show Boat,” Dana Steingold for “Into the Woods,” Sam Tsoutsouvas for “The Crucible “ at Hartford Stage, John Horton for “The Circle” at Westport Country Playhouse, Kirsten Wyatt for “Mame” at Goodspeed Musicals and Claire Brownell for Boeing, Boeing” at Hartford Stage.

For outstanding ensemble, the casts of “Into the Woods,” “Water by the Spoonful” and “The Realistic Joneses” will be recognized.  Alexander Dodge, scenic designer, and Fabio Toblini, costume designer, will be singled out for their work on both “The Tempest” and “Bell, Book and Candle” at Hartford Stage, the latter a collaborative effort with Long Wharf Theatre. Mr. Dodge will also be acknowledged for his work on the set of “The Circle.” The designer John Lasiter will be recognized for his lighting in Goodspeed Musicals’ “City of Angels” and John Gromada for his sound design in Westport Country Playhouse’s “Lips Together, Teeth Apart.”

For outstanding choreography the winner is Noah Racey for “Show Boat” while the Debut Awards will be shared by Carey Cannata for his role in “Over the Tavern” at Seven Angels Theatre and to Ben Cole for “The Tempest.”  The special Tom Killen Award will be presented to Jacqueline Hubbard, Artistic Director of the Ivoryton Playhouse.  A “Special Recognition” will be given to playwright Mike Reiss for his premiere of “I’m Connecticut” at Connecticut Repertory Theatre.

Since 1990, the Connecticut Critics Circle has been dedicated to applauding the best of the state’s theatrical productions.  The organization is composed to reviewers, columnists and broadcasters across the state.  This year, the twenty-second Awards Ceremony, will take place this Sunday at 2 p.m. at the Mark Twain House and Museum.

No comments:

Post a Comment